

## The Garingal Silver Hare

This perpetual trophy was donated in 1981 by club member Moira Whiteside to be awarded annually to a member of Garingal who has contributed significantly to the conduct of our club. Moira was keenly aware that without the volunteers behind the scenes running the events, there would be no sport.

The Silver Hare can only be awarded once, but a member who continues to provide great service for the club can receive a GO Medal (gold).

The engraved name shields read like a veritable Who's Who of Garingal.

2021	Johnny Petersen	2000	James Lithgow
2020	Peter McConaghy	1999	Bill McLean
2019	Rod Eckels	1998	Steve Truscott
2018	Jim Forbes	1997	Carol and Ken Jacobson
2017	Elizabeth & John Bulman	1996	Tim & Bryony Cox
2016	Tania & Jamie Kennedy	1995	Stuart McWilliam
2015	Colin Burnett	1994	Ross Barr
2014	Barbara & Graeme Dawson	1993	Anne & Malcolm Stewart
2013	Dennis Sparling	1992	Jim Merchant
2012	Ross Duker	1991	Val & John Hodson
2011	Peter Annetts	1990	Janet, Eric & Richard Morris
2010	John & Melissa Havranek	1989	Bev & Brian Johnson
2009	Barbara & Tony Hill	1988	Le Carpentier Family
2008	Melissa Cairns	1987	Jenny & Brian Cox
2007	John Anderson	1986	Barbara & Ron Junghans
2006	Chris Baker	1985	Robert Jerrems
2005	Russell & Lisa-Jane Taylor	1984	Ian Cameron
2004	Neil Schafer	1983	David Stitt
2003	David Bowerman	1982	Ian Aldersea
2002	Larry Weiss & Karin Hefftner	1981	Paul Darvodelsky
2001	Mike & Su-Lin Weller		

Post Script: Notably with Moira's passing in 2013, Orienteering Australia was notified that our sport was to be the beneficiary of a truly magnificent bequest to be put towards events at the level of Australian Championships.